A Single Tear At A Wedding

TS_Finalist_Writer_LoveLetter_Twitter

A little while ago I entered this monologue into an online competition (250 word limit; subject: Love Letters) and was chosen as a finalist! I didn’t win, but I’m very proud that my first monologue was acknowledged and even chosen to be performed by two people! Check it out, and let me know what you think!

David:
You looked beautiful this afternoon. You still do. I took a seat in the back like you wanted but I could still see you clearly. No amount of distance could ever cloud the sheer perfection of you. I’d never cried at a wedding before – funerals, sure, but never weddings. A single tear, just here [David touches own face] and in that moment I felt like the biggest cliché. A single tear at a wedding. [Pause]. They’re supposed to be happy though, aren’t they, single tears at a wedding? That little droplet of moisture is supposed to contain endless amounts of joy and good will for the happy couple. [Pause] Not mine. My little droplet contained our past and the imminent darkness of our future. That’s if we can even have a future. You hate when I’m dramatic, don’t you? Well I hate this facade, this day of “celebration”, these secrets and these lies. You wiped a tear after your vows, but was that from happiness or was it tear-synchronicity? I’m not convinced you could have been fully happy up there knowing that somewhere I may be shedding a single tear of anguish. This whole situation will devour me, I’ve no doubt. It’ll cloud everything we have and it’ll be torture. I will rest somewhat easier, though, in the knowledge that she’ll never be me. I’ll always be the one you escape to. [Beat] She’ll never be me, Michael, and you’ll never be you.
Gregory William.

 

Leave a Reply

